Articles worth reading

Children with pets are more clever according to a new survey (with chinchilla owners getting the best results)

access_time July 16, 2012

79% of children aged 5-16 believe pets have a positive effect on their homework 55% of children owning chinchillas feel

New Jersey Devils beat New York Rangers 5-3 in Game 5

access_time May 23, 2012

Kevin McGran Sports Reporter NEW YORK—Stephen Gionta, the smallest player on the ice, had the biggest game. Gionta scored in

Danforth commercial fire sends up black smoke

access_time May 19, 2012

Yamri Taddese Staff Reporter Thirty firefighters battled a commercial fire near Danforth Ave. and Cedarvale Ave. Saturday morning. Crews responded

Methodist Church Ghana

Methodist Church Ghana

Methodist Church Ghana

access_time November 22, 2011 chat_bubble_outline 1 comment
shareShare this post

The Methodist Church Ghana is one of the largest and oldest Protestant denominations in Ghana. It traces its roots back to the landing of Rev. Joseph Dunwell on 1 January 1835 in Cape Coast, Ghana. Rev. Thomas Birch Freeman, another missionary, emerged as the father of Methodism in West Africa, taking the Christian message beyond Cape Coast to the Ashanti Kingdom, Nigeria, and other parts of the region.

After serving as a district in the British Methodist Conference, the Methodist Church Ghana attained full independence on July 28, 1961. It adopted an episcopal structure at the Koforidua Conference in August 1999. Currently, the Methodist Church Ghana has 15 dioceses headed by bishops. Between 2003 and March 2008, 406 new congregations were started and ministry was initiated in Burkina Faso.

The current Presiding Bishop is the Most Reverend Prof Emmanuel Asante, the third presiding bishop and the tenth person to lead the Methodist Church Ghana. The administrative bishop is the Right Reverend Kow B. Egyir, and the lay president is Araba Ata Sam.
Presidents and Presiding Bishops of the Methodist Church Ghana

Francis C.F. Grant (1961–1966)
T. Wallace Koomson (1966–1973)
Charles K. Yamoah (1973–1977)
C. Awotwi Pratt (1977–1979)
Samuel B. Essamuah (1979–1984)
C. Awotwi Pratt (2nd time) (1984–1985)
Jacob S.A. Stephens (1985–1990)
Kwesi A. Dickson (1990–1997)
Samuel Asante Antwi (last president and 1st presiding bishop) (1997–2003)
Robert Aboagye-Mensah (2003–2009)
Emmanuel Asante (2009–present)

READ ALSO:   Christ Gospel Churches International
shareShare this post
folder_openAssigned tags
content_copyCategorized under

1 Comment

  1. britney spears now
    December 13, 21:01 britney spears now

    64092 978914Excellent read, I lately passed this onto a colleague who has been performing a little research on that. And the man truly bought me lunch because I came across it for him smile So allow me to rephrase that: Appreciate your lunch! 110591

    reply Reply this comment

Submit an answer


Your data will be safe!

Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.