Home | Universities In Ghana | University for Development Studies

University for Development Studies

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

The University for Development Studies, Tamale was established in 1992 as a multi-campus institution. It is the fifth public university to be established in Ghana. This deviates from the usual practice of having universities with central campuses and administrations. It was created with the four northern regions of the country in mind. These are the Brong Ahafo Region, Northern Region, Upper East Region and the Upper West Region.

Faculty of Agriculture

    Department of Agricultural Mechanization and Irrigation Technology
    Department of Agricultural Extension and Farm Management
    Department of Agronomy
    Department of Animal Science
    Department of Biotechnology
    Department of Home Sciences
    Department of Horticulture
    Department of Renewable Natural Resources

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

(To be established at Kintampo)
Faculty of Applied Sciences

    Department of Applied Biology
    Department of Applied Chemistry & Biochemistry
    Department of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science
    Department of Applied Physics
    Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences

Faculty of Integrated Development Studies

    Department of African & General Studies
    Department of Economics & Entrepreneurship Development
    Department of Environmental & Resource Studies
    Department of Social, Political & Historical Studies
    Department of Planning, Land Economy and Rural Development

School of Medicine and Health Sciences (faculty)

(The first batch of students were admitted in 1997)

    Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine
    Department of Community Nutrition
    Department of Microbiology
    Department of Pharmacology
    Department of Physiology & Surgery8
    Faculty of Education,Law and Business Studies

Depart of business studies website: www.uds.edu.gh


    Kintampo, Brong Ahafo Region - This campus is earmarked to house the Allied Health Sciences.
    Nyankpala, Northern Region, Ghana - Houses the Faculty of Agriculture.
    Navrongo, Upper East Region - Location of the campus which houses the Faculty of Applied Science.
    Tamale, Northern Region, Ghana - This campus houses the School of Medicine and Health Sciences.
    Wa, Upper West Region - This campus houses the Faculty of Integrated Development Studies.

List of Vice Chancellors

    Prof. R.B Bening Pioneer Vice Chancellor(1992-2001)
    Prof G.W.K Mensah (Acting Vice Chancellor) (2001-2002)
    Prof. John Bonaventure Kubongpwa Kaburise (April 8, 2002 - April 7, 2007)

    Prof. Haruna Yakubu (June 1, 2010 - )

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

northern Region of Ghana, Tamale, Universities in Ghana, Top Universities in Ghana, Top Schools in Ghana, Top Colleges in Ghana, University for Developement Studies, Public Universities in Ghana, Brong Ahafo Region

Rate this article