Home | Popular Ghanaian Churches | Church of The Lord (Aladura)

Church of The Lord (Aladura)

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Church of The Lord (Aladura)

   The Church of the Lord (Aladura) is an African Initiated Church founded by the first Primate and Late Prophet Dr. Josiah Olunowo Ositelu in 1925, but inaugurated in 1930 in Ogere-Remo, Shagamu, Ogun State, Nigeria; Reference: Journey So Far, ISBN 3-8258-6087-7; Publication - TCLAW Publishers, 2009.

"Aladura" in Yoruba means "owners of prayer", "Prayer Fellowship" or "The Praying People".

Also known as Aladura churches, they emphasize the power in praying and believe in faith healing and various elements associated with Pentecostalism. Most of the founders of the churches were associated with Anglicanism, though some Methodists joined the movement as well. The churches despise the power of traditional African religion, because they deem that power to be basically malign. Therefore they sometimes burn cult images as "idols" and oppose both polygamy and witchcraft. Unlike Kimbanguism, the churches tend to avoid politics and focus instead on the "holiness movement."

Dr. Rufus Okikiola Ositelu (Ph.D. Comp. Sc.; Ph.D. Theo.) is Archbishop And Metropolitan of the Archdiocese of Nigeria and the Primate of The Church of the Lord (Aladura) Organisation Worldwide


The Six Tenets of the church can be described as:

    Pentecostal in Power
    Prophetic in Ministry
    Biblical in Pattern
    Evangelical in Mission
    Ecumenical in Outlook and
    Social in Responsibility

Reference: Journey So Far, ISBN 3-8258-6087-7; Publication - TCLAW Publishers, 2009.


    World Council of Churches (WCC) 1975
    All African Conference of Churches (AACC) 1975
    Organisation of African Independent (Initiated) Churches (OAIC) 1978
    British Council of Churches (BCC) 1979
    Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) 1984
    Christian Council of Nigeria (CCN) 1988
    International Ministerial Council of Great Britain (IMCGB) 1993
    founding member of the International Ministerial Council of Germany (IMCOG) 1994
    Afro-Caribbean Churches in the UK (ACCUK).
    founding member of the Council of African Christian Communities in Europe (CACCE) 1999
    founding member of the International Convent of Christian Congregations, Rhein-Main, Germany (ICCCRG) 1999

In 1996, the Church hosted a WCC Consultative Meeting with African Instituted Churches.

Provincial offices

    Lome, Togo
    Kumasi, Ghana
    Wellington, Freetown, Sierra Leone
    London, England
    Bronx, New York, United States of America
    Frankfurt am Main, Germany
    Sevila, Spain
    Griffen Glen Way, Ireland

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Popular Ghanaian Churches, Popular Churches in Ghana, Church of The Lord (Aladura), Dr. Josiah Olunowo Ositelu, Ogere-Remo, Chagamu, Ogun State

Rate this article


Breaking News


A ludo board is normally a square marked with a cross. Each arm of the cross is divided into three columns, with the columns ... Full story

Emmanuel Odarkwei Obetsebi-Lamptey

Emmanuel Odarkwei Obetsebi-Lamptey (April 26,  1902-January 29th 1963) was one of the "Big Six,' the group of nationalists called who were arrested imprisoned by the ... Full story

William Ofori-Atta

ATTA, OFORI- William,B.A. (Econ.). Barrister-al-Law, Solicitor and Advocate; Educationist; Politician. BORN: October 10,1910; Kibi, Eastern Region, Ghanaian. Married, with children. EDUCATION: Kibi Govt. School (1919-24); ... Full story

Dr. Ako Adjei

One of the Big Six and Minister in the First Republic In the history of Ghanaian politics Adjei can be said to be the John the ... Full story

Dr. J.B. Danquah (1895-1965)

The Watson Commission of Inquiry into the 1948 Accra riots described Dr. J.B. Danquah as the "doyen of Gold Coast politicians; the man at the ... Full story

Dr. Edward Akufo Addo

DDO, AKUFO Dr. Edward, M.A. (Oxon); B.L.; D.C.L.; JVl.O.V; O.O.V. Journalist, Jurist and Statesman. BORN: June 26, 1906; Akropong-Akwapim, Eastern Region. Son of Dora Amuafi ... Full story

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah

Kwame Nkrumah (September 21, 1909-April 27, 1972) led the Gold Coast to independence in 1957 as the state of Ghana, and thereafter, first as prime ... Full story

Basic article creation video

This video shows you how to create and publish an article in Vivvo. See how you can format your content, add images to the article's body with ease or set article preferences like status, publishing date or search friendly URL and metadata.