Home | Articles | Republic Of Ghana | Heads of State of Ghana (1957 - To Date)

Heads of State of Ghana (1957 - To Date)

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

The Unification of Gold Coast and British Togoland upon independence from Britain, took place from 6"th March 1957 to 1st July 1960. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II who was the incumbent, was represented by:

Sir Charles Noble Arden-Clarke, as
Governor-General, from 6 March 1957 to 24 June 1957.

The 5th Earl of Listowel, William Francis Hare, (Lord Listowel), also served as the Governor General from 24th June 1957 to 1st July 1960.

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah served as Prime Minister of Ghana from 1957-1960. He became Ghana's first president, in 1960, after Ghana became a Republic on 151 July 1960. His term of office came to an end in 1966, when Major-General Joseph Arthur Ankrah deposed him in a coup d'etat.

Major-General Joseph Arthur Ankrah,
Chairman of the National Liberation Council, came to power, under military rule, in February 1966. In 1967, he was forced to resign as Chairman of NLC and
Head of State over a bribery scandah involving Fracis Nzerehe, a Nigerian Businessman.

Akwasi Amankwa Afrifa came into power with the rank of Brigadier, but was later promoted to the rank of General. His tenure of office spanned from 1967 1969 as Chairman of the National Liberation Council and head of state.

Edward Akufo-Addo, was a Ceremonial President of the Second Republic from August 1970 to January 1972, when he was deposed in a coup d'etat.

Colonel Ignatius Kutu Acheampong
(later, General), Chairman of the National Redemption Council took over from 1972 to October 1975. He had a second term from October 1975 to July 1978 (by which time the name of the junta had been changed to Supreme Military Council -SMC). He was overthrown by his second-in-Command, Lt. Gen. Fred Akuffo, and other members of the ruling Supreme Military Council (SMC) after he was accused of economic sabotage

Lieutenant-General Frederick William Kwasi Akuffo, took over in a military coup d'etat as Chairman of the S Military Council from July 1978 1979 when he was overthrown in d'etat by Flight Lieutenant Jen Rawlings.

Dr. Hilla Limann, flagbearer People's National Party (PNP), was sworn in as a President of Ghana's Republic in September 1979. He was however, deposed in a coup d'etat Chairman of the Provisional N Defence Council (PNDC), Lieutenant Jerry John Rawlings December 1981.

Flight Lieutenant Jerry John Rawlings
Chairman of the Armed F Revolutionary Council, came into from 4 June 1979 to 24 Septembei after overthrowing Lieutenant-G Akuffo in a coup d'etat.

John Agyekum Kufuor, then flag of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), ce power on 7'h January, 2001, after democratically elected on 28* Dece 2000. He is currently serving a si term, which ended in December 2008.

John Evans Fifii Atta Mills (born 21 July 1944 is the third and current President of the Fourth Republic of Ghana. He was inaugurated on 7 January 2009, having defeated the ruling party candidate Nana Akufo-Addo in the 2008 election. He was Vice President from 1997 to 2001 under President Jerry Rawlings, and stood unsuccessfully in the 2000 and 2004 presidential elections as the candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, Jerry John Rawlings, Heads of State of Ghana, Akwasi Amankwa Afrifa, Sir Charles Noble Arden-Clarke, Joseph Arthur Ankrah, Edward Akufo-Addo, Ignatius Kutu Acheampong, Frederick William Kwasi Akuffo, John Agyekum Kufuor, John A. Mills, Structure of the Ghana Government

Rate this article


Breaking News


A ludo board is normally a square marked with a cross. Each arm of the cross is divided into three columns, with the columns ... Full story

Emmanuel Odarkwei Obetsebi-Lamptey

Emmanuel Odarkwei Obetsebi-Lamptey (April 26,  1902-January 29th 1963) was one of the "Big Six,' the group of nationalists called who were arrested imprisoned by the ... Full story

William Ofori-Atta

ATTA, OFORI- William,B.A. (Econ.). Barrister-al-Law, Solicitor and Advocate; Educationist; Politician. BORN: October 10,1910; Kibi, Eastern Region, Ghanaian. Married, with children. EDUCATION: Kibi Govt. School (1919-24); ... Full story

Dr. Ako Adjei

One of the Big Six and Minister in the First Republic In the history of Ghanaian politics Adjei can be said to be the John the ... Full story

Dr. J.B. Danquah (1895-1965)

The Watson Commission of Inquiry into the 1948 Accra riots described Dr. J.B. Danquah as the "doyen of Gold Coast politicians; the man at the ... Full story

Dr. Edward Akufo Addo

DDO, AKUFO Dr. Edward, M.A. (Oxon); B.L.; D.C.L.; JVl.O.V; O.O.V. Journalist, Jurist and Statesman. BORN: June 26, 1906; Akropong-Akwapim, Eastern Region. Son of Dora Amuafi ... Full story

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah

Kwame Nkrumah (September 21, 1909-April 27, 1972) led the Gold Coast to independence in 1957 as the state of Ghana, and thereafter, first as prime ... Full story

Basic article creation video

This video shows you how to create and publish an article in Vivvo. See how you can format your content, add images to the article's body with ease or set article preferences like status, publishing date or search friendly URL and metadata.