Home | Articles | Ghana Articles | Volta Region

Volta Region

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Volta Region

Volta Region is one of Ghana's ten administrative regions. It is to the east of Lake Volta. Its capital is Ho.

List of districts

The region has 18 districts consisting of 3 municipal and 15 ordinary districts:
Adaklu-Anyigbe District     Kpetoe     Michael Kobla Adzaho
Akatsi District     Akatsi     Peter Kwasi Nortsu-Kotoe
Biakoye District     Nkonya Ahenkro     Louis Nana Akattah
Ho Municipal District     Ho     Isaac Kwasi Kodobisah
Hohoe Municipal District     Hohoe     Victor-Herman Condobrey
Jasikan District     Jasikan     Nana Barima Kumessy-Bonsy II
Kadjebi District     Kadjebi     Seth Alifui
Keta Municipal District     Keta     Sylvester Tornyeava
Ketu North District     Dzodze     vacant
Ketu South District     Denu     Bernard Frank Amarble
Kpando District     Kpandu     Francis Ganyaglo
Krachi East District     Dambai     Rapheal Kofi Ogyemoko
Krachi West District     Kete Krachi     Kwame Ponye
Nkwanta North District     Kpassa     Paul Levin Gyato
Nkwanta South District     Nkwanta     Joseph Nyofam Ninkab
North Tongu District     Adidome     Bubey Dzinadu
South Dayi District     Kpeve     Kafui Bekui
South Tongu District     Sogakope     Kwabla Woyome


British Togoland shown in pale green

The region was formed by the union of the former British Togoland which was part of the German protectorate of Togoland and the south eastern part of the Gold Coast, east of the Volta river. It was administered as part of the Gold Coast by the British as Trans Volta Togoland. Before Ghana's independence, a plebiscite held on 9 May 1956 saw the territory decide to join Ghana at independence.


The largest ethnic group in the region is the Ewe people who make up 68.5% of the region's population. They consist of several sub groups. Other major ethnicities include the Guan people (9.2%) made up of over 18 sub groups and the Akan people (8.5%) with over 19 sub-groups. The fourth largest group is the Gurma in the north, forming 6.5% of the region's population. Also present in this region are the Ga-Dangme, Mole-Dagbon, Grusi and the Mande-Busanga


The region is run by a Regional Coordinating Council (RCC) and a District Assembly. The RCC is made up of the Regional Minister who is the political head and his deputy as well as representatives of the Regional House of Chiefs, the District Chief Executives of the region, the Presiding Members of the 12 Districts Assemblies and representatives of the various decentralized Ministries, Departments and Agencies in the region. Each district is run by a District Assembly.


The region has had 22 constituencies since the December 2004 parliamentary election. At the previous election in December 2000, there were 19 constituencies.

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Ghana, West Africa, Africa, Ghana Articles, Lake Volta, Volta Region, Ho, regions in Ghana, Volta

Rate this article