Home | Articles | Ghana Articles | Central Region of Ghana

Central Region of Ghana

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Central Region of Ghana

The Central Region is one of Ghana's ten administrative regions. It is bordered by the Ashanti and Eastern regions to the north, Western region to the west, Greater Accra region to the east, and to the south by the Atlantic Ocean.


The Central Region of Ghana comprises the following 17 districts:

    Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese District
    Agona East District
    Agona West Municipal District
    Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam District
    Asikuma/Odoben/Brakwa District
    Assin North Municipal District
    Assin South District
    Awutu-Senya District
    Cape Coast Metropolitan District
    Effutu Municipal District
    Gomoa East District
    Gomoa West District
    Komenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abirem Municipal District
    Mfantsiman Municipal District
    Twifo/Heman/Lower Denkyira District
    Upper Denkyira East District
    Upper Denkyira West District

Districts of Central Ghana

The Central Region is a hub of education in Ghana, habouring some of the best schools in the country. The region's economy is dominated by farming and fishing. Cape Coast Castle and Elmina Castle are prominent UNESCO World Heritage sites on the shores this region, a powerful reminder of the evils of the slave trade. The Central Region is a major center for tourism within Ghana and it has some of the most beautiful beaches, national parks (Kakum National Park) and small cities in West Africa. American President Barack Obama made his first international trip to the city of Cape Coast in 2009. It is a land of friendly and welcoming people.

Food The Central Region is well known for its varied Fante cuisine. Kenkey and Fufu are both staples which are both eaten with a variety of sauces, stews, and soups. Seafood is commonly eaten across the region.

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Ghana, West Africa, Africa, central region, Ghana Articles, Central Ghana, Central Region of Ghana, regions in Ghana

Rate this article