Home | Articles | Ghana Articles | Districts of Ghana

Districts of Ghana

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Districts of Ghana

The Districts of Ghana are second-level administrative subdivisions of Ghana, below the level of region.

The districts of Ghana were re-organized in 1988/1989 in an attempt to decentralize the government and to combat the rampant corruption amongst officials. The reform of the late 1980s subdivided the regions of Ghana into 110 districts, where local district assemblies should deal with the local administration. By 2006, an additional 28 districts were created by splitting some of the original 110, bringing their number up to 138. In February 2008, there were more districts created and some were upgraded to municipal status. This brought the final number to 170 districts in Ghana.

Ashanti Region

The Ashanti Region of Ghana contains the following 27 districts. This is made up of 1 Metropolitan, 6 Municipal and 20 Ordinary districts. They are as follows:

    Adansi North District
    Adansi South District
    Afigya-Kwabre District
    Ahafo Ano North District
    Ahafo Ano South District
    Amansie Central District
    Amansie West District
    Asante Akim North Municipal District
    Asante Akim South District
    Atwima Kwanwoma District
    Atwima Mponua District
    Atwima Nwabiagya District
    Bekwai Municipal District
    Bosome Freho District
    Botsomtwe District
    Ejisu-Juaben Municipal District
    Ejura/Sekyedumase District
    Kumasi Metropolitan District
    Kwabre District
    Mampong Municipal District
    Obuasi Municipal District
    Offinso Municipal District
    Offinso North District
    Sekyere Afram Plains District
    Sekyere Central District
    Sekyere East District
    Sekyere South District

Brong Ahafo Region

The Brong Ahafo Region of Ghana contains 22 districts. These consist of 7 municipal and 15 ordinary districts as follows:

    Asunafo North Municipal
    Asunafo South District
    Asutifi District
    Atebubu-Amantin District
    Berekum Municipal
    Dormaa East District
    Dormaa Municipal
    Jaman North District
    Jaman South District
    Kintampo North Municipal
    Kintampo South District
    Nkoranza North District
    Nkoranza South District
    Pru District
    Sene District
    Sunyani Municipal
    Sunyani West District
    Tain District
    Tano North District
    Tano South District
    Techiman Municipal
    Wenchi Municipal

Central Region

The Central Region of Ghana contains 17 districts. These are made up of 1 metropolitan, 6 municipal and 10 ordinary districts as follows:

    Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese District
    Agona East District
    Agona West Municipal District
    Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam District
    Asikuma/Odoben/Brakwa District
    Assin North Municipal District
    Assin South District
    Awutu-Senya District
    Cape Coast Metropolitan District
    Effutu Municipal District
    Gomoa East District
    Gomoa West District
    Komenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abirem Municipal District
    Mfantsiman Municipal District
    Twifo/Heman/Lower Denkyira District
    Upper Denkyira East District
    Upper Denkyira West District

Eastern Region

The Eastern Region of Ghana contains 21 districts made up of 6 municipal and 15 ordinary districts as follows:

    Akuapim North District
    Akuapim South Municipal District
    Asuogyaman District
    Atiwa District
    Birim Central Municipal District
    Birim North District
    Birim South District
    East Akim Municipal District
    Fanteakwa District
    Kwaebibirem District
    Kwahu East District
    Kwahu North District
    Kwahu South District
    Kwahu West Municipal District
    Lower Manya Krobo District
    New Juaben Municipal District
    Suhum-Kraboa-Coaltar District
    Upper Manya Krobo District
    West Akim Municipal District
    Yilo Krobo District

Greater Accra Region

The Greater Accra Region of Ghana contains 10 districts. It has 2 metropolitan and 2 ordinary districts. The remaining 6 are municipal districts as follows:

    Accra Metropolitan District
    Adenta Municipal District
    Ashaiman Municipal District
    Dangme East District
    Dangme West District
    Ga East Municipal District
    Ga South Municipal District
    Ga West Municipal District
    Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipal District
    Tema Municipal District

Northern Region

The Northern Region of Ghana contains 20 districts. 18 are ordinary districts in addition to 1 municipal and 1 metropolitan districts.:

    Bole District
    Bunkpurugu-Yunyoo District
    Central Gonja District
    Chereponi District
    East Gonja District
    East Mamprusi District
    Gushegu District
    Karaga District
    Kpandai District
    Nanumba North District
    Nanumba South District
    Saboba District
    Savelugu-Nanton District
    Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District
    Tamale Metropolitan District
    Tolon-Kumbungu District
    West Gonja District
    West Mamprusi District
    Yendi Municipal District
    Zabzugu-Tatale District

Upper East Region

The Upper East Region of Ghana contains 9 districts made up of 2 municipal and 7 ordinary districts as follows:

    Bawku Municipal District
    Bawku West District
    Bolgatanga Municipal District
    Bongo District
    Builsa District
    Garu-Tempane District
    Kassena Nankana District
    Kassena Nankana West District
    Talensi-Nabdam District

Upper West Region

The Upper West Region of Ghana contains 9 districts consisting of 1 municipal and 8 ordinary districts as follows:

    Jirapa/Lambussie District
    Lambussie Karni District
    Lawra District
    Nadowli District
    Sissala East District
    Sissala West District
    Wa East District
    Wa Municipal District
    Wa West District

Volta Region

The Volta Region of Ghana contains 18 districts made up of 3 municipal and 15 ordinary districts as follows:

    Adaklu-Anyigbe District
    Akatsi District
    Biakoye District
    Ho Municipal District
    Hohoe Municipal District
    Jasikan District
    Kadjebi District
    Keta Municipal District
    Ketu North District
    Ketu South District
    Kpando District
    Krachi East District
    Krachi West District
    Nkwanta North District
    Nkwanta South District
    North Tongu District
    South Dayi District
    South Tongu District

Western Region

The Western Region of Ghana contains 18 districts made up of 1 metropolitan, 2 municipal and 15 ordinary districts as follows:

    Ahanta West District
    Aowin/Suaman District
    Bia District
    Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai District
    Ellembele District
    Jomoro District
    Juabeso District
    Mpohor/Wassa East District
    Nzema East Municipal District
    Prestea-Huni Valley District
    Sefwi Akontombra District
    Sefwi-Wiawso District
    Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly
    Shama District
    Tarkwa Nsuaem Municipal District
    Wasa Amenfi East District
    Wasa Amenfi West District
    Wassa West District

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Tagged as:

Ghana, West Africa, Africa, Ghana Articles, Ashanti Region, Volta Region, Districts of Ghana, Ghana Districts

Rate this article